top of page

How to P.I.C.K a Book


"Everyone is a reader...Some just haven't found their favorite book yet."

Over the years, as a reading teacher, I have witnessed students blindly borrow books from the classroom library only for interest to be lost and books abandoned shortly thereafter. How can we prevent this from happening? How can we help our children find a new favorite book or series that they simply can't stop reading? At some point in our lives we have stayed up way past our bedtime either as a child or as an adult because the book we were reading was THAT good. I am not encouraging your children to stay up past their curfew, but I am encouraging them to find a book, author, or series that they absolutely LOVE! Today's feature article explores the acronym of P.I.C.K, which helps students make an appropriate book selection the next time they choose a new book to read. P.I.C.K stands for: P - Purpose I - Interest C - Comprehension K - Know the Words Click here to read a short, informative article to learn more about the P.I.C.K strategy. Happy reading! Ms. Meluso

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page